Sponsored by:
Presented by:

Assembling High-quality Genomes to Solve Nature’s Mysteries

Thursday, November 1, 2018
9AM PDT | 12PM EDT | 4PM GMT | 5PM CET

If you’ve already registered, please click here to log in to the webcast.

Plant and animal whole-genome sequencing remains a challenging endeavour, particularly due to genome size, high density of repetitive elements, and heterozygosity. Because of this, often only a single, fragmented reference genome is available for a species, genus, or even family, limiting the ability to answer important biological questions.

Looking at the trends in genome assembly and annotation over the past year, such as pan-genomes and phasing, the speakers will explore how Single Molecule, Real-Time (SMRT) Sequencing is utilized to develop long-lasting genomic resources, supporting research that fuels breeding programs, informs industrial product development, and shapes our understanding of life on Earth. They will then dive into the world of bluefin tuna biology and discuss how sequencing the genomes of different populations of bluefin tuna may help protect this sushi delicacy from overfishing.

Join the webcast to:

  • Learn how SMRT Sequencing provides the length and quality needed to capture all types of genomic variation.
  • Get tools, tips and tricks for generating high-quality de novo assemblies and annotations for plant and animal genomes.
  • Gain insights on applying genomics to the complicated real-world problem of overfishing tuna species.
 

This webcast has been produced on behalf of the sponsor who retains sole responsibility for content. About this content

Presenter
Dr. Barbara Block
Charles and Elizabeth Prothro Professor in Marine Sciences
Stanford University
Presenter
Dr. Paul Peluso
Principal Scientist
PacBio
Presenter
Dr. Jayshan Carpen
Moderator
Nature Research
View Biography

Registration details:

Our registration process uses cookies, by submitting this registration form you agree to our cookie policy.

(*) denotes required form field(s)

Submit