This webinar will address the need for multi-length scale characterization that addresses specific challenges in energy materials applications. In order to predict functional performance of devices and their ultimate failure modes, recent work has utilized multi-scale microscopy methods to relate microstructural observations of failures to electrochemical performance. Specific studies and topics will be presented, including:

  • Failures in lithium ion batteries (18650 cell)
  • In operando battery imaging
  • Fuel cells (PEFC and SOFC)
  • 2D, 3D and 4D imaging modalities


A variety of correlative imaging modalities will be presented with a special focus placed on 3D X-ray microscopy and electron microscopy. We will also address strategies and approaches to designing multi-scale correlative imaging experiments, enabled by recent developments at ZEISS
 

Key learnings and take-aways:

  • Perspectives on the key challenges facing energy storage and conversion technologies and how microstructure characterization is playing a key role in developing solutions
  • How addressing a multi-scale and multi-modal approach to characterize the most relevant scales is necessary to obtaining accurate insights
  • An overview of ZEISS Microscopy solutions in Materials Science, including X-ray Microscopy, FIB-SEM, and FE-SEM imaging
  • How Atlas 5, and its correlative workspace, is enabling the study of complex multi-scale challenges
Presenter
Dr. Paul Shearing
Senior Lecturer in Chemical Engineering and Royal Academy of Engineering Research Fellow
University College London
View Presenter Biography
Presenter
Dr. Arno Merkle
Sr. Manager – Materials Science
Carl Zeiss Microscopy
View Presenter Biography

Multi-scale correlative microscopy of energy storage and conversion devices

Wednesday May 11, 2016
8:00 PDT | 11:00 EDT | 16:00 UK | 17:00 CET

Registration Details:

Our registration process uses cookies, by submitting this registration form you agree to our cookie policy.

(*) denotes required form field(s)

Submit