Transforming Science: Using digital archives to uncover new insights into the evolution of science in society

14th January 2021 - 5pm (GMT) / 12pm (EST) / 9am (PST)

Sign Up:

(*) denotes required form field(s)

Our registration process uses cookies, by submitting this registration form you agree to our cookie policy.

  Register

Overview

In this webinar, historian of science Dr. Alexander Hall will discuss how digitised databases of historical documents can be used by historians to generate new insights into the history of science and its changing place and role within society. Drawing on examples from the archive of the British Association for the Advancement of Science (BAAS) and associated collections recently digitised as part of the Wiley Digital Archives project, Dr. Hall will introduce examples that explore how the networks and connections revealed by the archive can shape outputs at all levels.

Founded in 1831, the BAAS embodied the organised and successful efforts of the British scientific community to transform science from a self-funded endeavor of the wealthy into a government-funded professional activity at the centre of social and economic development.

The newly digitised BAAS archive of Wiley Digital Archives (WDA) has been developed in partnership with Jisc, the not-for-profit organisation providing digital services and solutions for UK education and research.

Throughout the event you will have the chance to pose questions to Dr. Hall, with answers provided during a Q&A session after the presentation has finished.

Don’t hesitate, sign up to reserve your space today!

Presenters

Presenter
Dr. Alexander Hall

University of Birmingham
View Biography
Presenter
Simon Bell
Product Manager, Wiley Digital Archives
Wiley