3D Printing and COVID-19:

How Penn State Navigated the Legal and Regulatory Landscape

July 29, 2020

8 AM PST, 11AM EST, 17:00 CET

Sign Up:

(*) denotes required form field(s)

Our registration process uses cookies, by submitting this registration form you agree to our cookie policy.

  Register

Overview

Already Registered? Click Here

Additive manufacturing and 3D printing are a bright spot in the fight against COVID-19. The ability to rapidly iterate designs and produce solutions on-demand is helping address the surging demand for personal protective equipment (PPE) and other healthcare devices that are in short supply during the pandemic.  At Penn State, a team of nearly 400 people joined forces to help protect thousands of doctors, nurses, physicians, and healthcare workers in Penn State Health. This webinar will discuss how 3D printing led to the formation of Penn State’s Manufacturing And Sterilization for COVID-19 (MASC) Initiative and how 3D printing was both a resource and a liability to the team.  Speakers will discuss how open source designs and ideas shared by ‘makers’ across the global inspired innovation on MASC and how the team navigated the legal and regulatory challenges they faced when 3D printing PPE and other solutions. Finally, the speakers will discuss the shifting legal and regulatory landscape during the pandemic with the co-founder of the 3D Printing Group and Partner at the law firm Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe.

Presenters

Presenter
Tim Simpson
Director, Paul Morrow Professor
Additive Manufacturing & Design Graduate Program; Morrow Professor of Engineering Design & Manufacturing, Penn State University
View Biography
Presenter
Jessica Menold
Assistant Professor, Director
Engineering Design and Mechanical Engineering, Technology and Human Research in Engineering Design Lab, Penn State University
View Biography
Presenter
Chris Higgins
Partner
Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP
View Biography