SECURE YOUR PLACE

Sign Up:

(*) denotes required form field(s)

Our registration process uses cookies, by submitting this registration form you agree to our cookie policy.

Register  

Crafting a solution to Schrems II: Is a permanent fix possible?

WEBINAR SUMMARY

Tuesday 27th October

Event Timings:

GMT: 3pm - 4pm

ET: 11am - 12pm

PT: 8am - 9am

On July 16, the EU’s highest court once again delivered a bombshell data protection ruling by annulling the EU-US Privacy Shield. The Schrems II decision has many US companies—including big tech giants like Facebook and Microsoft—trying to figure out what’s next.

Officials from both sides of the Atlantic face a significantly different landscape from the last time the EU court annulled a trans-Atlantic data deal in 2015. A presidential election year with the prospect of a power transition in Congress will add to the uncertainty. As negotiators try to reconcile the crisis, MLex is following every unfolding development.

In this webinar, MLex data protection experts Mike Swift and Matthew Newman will be joined by an expert panel to discuss the fallout from the court’s ruling and the mitigating factors that may influence how to resolve this vexing issue.

Format: 45 minute presentation, 15 minute live audience Q&A

Meet the Speakers:

Presenter
Mike Swift
Chief Global Digital Risk Correspondent
MLex
View Biography
Presenter
Matthew Newman
Chief EU Correspondent
MLex
View Biography
Presenter
Bruno Gencarelli
Head of the International Data Flows and Protection Unit
European Commission
View Biography
Presenter
Alex Greenstein
Director, Privacy Shield
U.S. Department of Commerce
View Biography
Presenter
James Sullivan
Deputy Assistant Secretary
U.S. Department of Commerce
View Biography
Presenter
Thomas Boué
Director General, Policy - EMEA
BSA | The Software Alliance
View Biography