Sponsored by:

Presented by:

Airborne particles: where they’re from and how they affect us

Wednesday, July 31, 2019,
8AM PDT | 11AM EDT | 4PM BST | 5 PM CEST

Airborne particulate matter is found throughout the environment and can have potentially far-reaching effects.

Particulate matter can be natural, but can also come from anthropogenic sources (e.g. pollutants from transport, construction or industrial processes). Its effects often depend on where it is found: in the upper atmosphere, it can affect the formation of clouds, with implications for the climate, whereas in the lower atmosphere it is more likely to have negative health consequences for humans, either via inhalation or through the consumption of foods that have absorbed it.

In this webinar, the speakers will discuss how scanning electron microscopy (SEM) can help characterize airborne particulate matter -- and how that information is used and interpreted. Speakers will consider both the shape and composition of particulates, enabling a more comprehensive assessment than using size only. These issues will be addressed in the context of three topics: the capture and study of airborne particulates and their role in the climate; sources of particulate matter and their health implications; and plant uptake of particulates and downstream food effects.

This webcast will explore:

  • What analytical approaches can gather crucial particulate information in a fast and accurate manner?
  • How can the combination of compositional and morphological information on each particlehelp to determine the behaviour of particle populations?
  • How can the latest SEM-based analytical techniques be used to solve environmental problems quickly and efficiently?

This webcast has been produced for Oxford Instruments NanoAnalysis by Nature Research Custom Media, which operates independently of other Nature Research editorial departments. The sponsor retains sole responsibility for content. About this content. 

Presenter
Dr. Matt Hiscock
Head of Product Science
Oxford Instruments NanoAnalysis
View Biography
Presenter
Prof. Ben Murray
Professor of Atmospheric Science
University of Leeds
View Biography
Presenter
Alberto Sanchez-Marroquin
PhD student
University of Leeds
View Biography
Presenter
Dr. Louise Hughes
Product Manager for Life Sciences
Oxford Instruments
View Biography
Presenter
Dr. Jayshan Carpen
Moderator
Nature Research
View Biography

Registration details:

Our registration process uses cookies, by submitting this registration form you agree to our cookie policy.

(*) denotes required form field(s)

Submit